A-levels and Sixth Form

I have just completed my second week of sixth form, and have begun  my adventure into the daunting world of A-levels.

The first week was hell. I cried and cried and cried again. It was simply horrible. I contemplated dropping out of sixth form and moving to college. I was so close that I even started searching for college courses online. I knew something had to change…

I started off with 5 subjects: Maths, Chemistry, Physics, Biology and Psychology. But it all got too much. I was the only person in my year attempting 5, so the pressure was insane. With homework mounting up from all subjects, I knew one had to go. Thee decision wasn’t easy, but I found myself waving goodbye to physics.

I love physics, really I do…but physics has served me well and it’s time to move on to bigger and better things. My problem with physics lies with maths. I hated the maths involved with physics (mechanical maths) so I pulled out of physics. As a result I switched my maths around to maths statistics instead of maths mechanics. I didn’t like the mechanics side of maths and that was the reason why I dropped out of physics in the first place, so there was no point me carrying on with maths mechanics.

I switched maths class, which meant that my biology lessons were moved because the two classes clashed. As a result I moved into a new biology class, which were not learning the same topic as my old class. Ugh. So I had to catch up with the rest of my class, which I am still in the process of doing. So that was all very stressful!

Anyway I am settled down a bit now, I have 4 subjects: maths, chemistry, biology and psychology. I do miss physics and sometimes I regret dropping it. At the moment I am enjoying chemistry and psychology. I am also enjoying biology although I am finding it a bit hard as I am behind everyone else. The only thing I am not happy with is maths. In fact I really don’t like maths. I feel like everyone in my class is better at maths than me. I feel like I am not going to be able to keep up. I would rather be studying physics than maths, however I know that without the maths I wouldn’t be able to do the physics anyway. Never mind.

We are only 2 weeks in, but I have so much work to do. So now I am off to study surds and microscopy. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

