Sixth Form Nerves

In 4 days time, I will start a new chapter of my life: sixth form.

At the moment I am actually quite nervous about it all! Which to me is a surprise! Before I left school I was super excited at the thought of joining the sixth form. I could wear my own clothes, study the subjects I want, have free lessons, go off campus and chill in the common room. All was well and I actually really looked forward to starting the sixth form. But now the excitement has faded and the truth is I am dreading it! The thought is terrifying, I am not ready to do A-levels!

How am I going to manage the jump from GCSE to A-level? What if I can’t keep up with the work load? What if I don’t understand the work and fail?

All these thoughts rush around my head, filing me with dread and doubt. Am I good enough to study a-levels? I did well in my GCSES (8 A*s, 4 As and a C), but that is completely different! A-levels are much harder than GCSES, what if I don’t understand and ‘fall through the cracks’.

Not only am I worried that academically I am not up for it, but socially too! I haven’t spoken to my school friends since the school prom 8 weeks ago! To be fair they haven’t messaged me and I know that they have all met up with each other without me! During NCS I had an argument with one of the girl’s in my group, who I fear has ‘turned’ the others against me!

Ugh! I’m just not up for going back! I’m so scared and worried, a-levels are really hard and I am just not up for the challenge! To make things worse I know that my group of friends will dissolve away, as some of them are off to college etc. I wish I could just leave and get a job…or go back into year 11 and retake GCSES again.

Is it normal to feel this apprehensive? I don’t know. It doesn’t help that I don’t really know what I am studying….

Leave a Reply

