NCS Concerns

On the 18th July (4 days time) I will be taking part in National Citizens Service (NCS). I am extremely nervous and anxious about the whole situation, but I am also pretty excited! Therefore I thought I would come up with a list of all of my concerns, some are general concerns while others are more specific to certain weeks. My concerns are in no particular order of importance!

No friends

Or more specifically not getting on with people. Luckily I know 3 people on my wave, but I am still nervous. What if I don’t get on with the people in my team? I am dreading the thought of having to spend 4 weeks with a group of people I hate. I know that people have different personalities, so with a group of 100 teenagers surely there will be a few personality clashes!

Homesickness

I am a bit of a wimp, I admit it! For me the thought of spending time away from my comfy bed and being away from my family, is horrible. I have done a few small trips away from home before and I absolutely hated it. I cried all the time and just wanted to come home. So the thought of going away for a week is very daunting for me, what makes it worse is the fact that I know that I will be homesick even before I get their.

Being unhappy

The last thing I want is to burst out crying in front of strangers! Not that I want to cry at all of course! I just have a bad feeling that I may not enjoy myself while I am there and spend too much time worrying about things. Not only this I don’t want to be the killjoy and risk ruining other people’s fun with my misery.

Forced to do activities

I know ‘it all starts at yes!’ but for me somethings are just a ‘No!’ One of my biggest concerns is being forced into doing an activity that I do not wish to participate in. I will try to give everything a go, I just hope that my team leader is not too pushy. For me I really don’t want to do high ropes or climbing because I am terrified of heights.

Facilities

When it comes to showers and toilets I like a door with a lock on it. This is mainly for week 1, this concern. I just hope they are not those horrible open showers like they have in swimming pools. Also I hope that there are proper toilets and not porta-loos that are like toxic coffins! Furthermore I hope there is a nice clean sink where I can brush my teeth in peace!

That’s it….I think! A list of my concerns about NCS. Let’s hope these concerns and worries do not happen in real life! Once I have completed NCS I may come back and look over these worries with you, to see how I got on with them!

If you share any of my worries then feel free to leave a comment or perhaps you have different concerns then I would love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “NCS Concerns

  1. Jack says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.

    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as
    you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before. http://www.yahoo.net

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

