Creative Therapy Book Review

SAM_0706

Title: Creative Therapy Colouring Book

Price: £9.99

Illustraters: Hannah Davies, Richard Merritt & Jo Taylor

Publish date: 4th September 2014

 

Recently I purchased ‘Creative Therapy Colouring Book’, it is basically a colouring book for adults. The basic idea is that you can simply ‘doodle away’ your stress. My aunt recommended this book to me as she purchased one while she was in hospital having an operation. So I went a head and got myself a copy, at first I was a little hesitant. I thought colouring was for five year olds, and a bit of a waste of time. But soon I got into it, alright at first it seemed to be a bit of a chore. The patterns are often very complex and take a huge amount of time, so progress seems slow. If you like a quick result then this book is certainly not for you.

Although it’s slow going, I have to admit that I do find it fun. I was a little embarrassed at first, but once I picked up some pencils at the local 99p shop I was off. That’s one of the great things about the book, you don’t need expensive pens and quality pencils. Instead you can just use any old crayons you have in your draw. The colouring aspect of the book is great, you have the freedom to choose your own colours and design in the way you wish.

However one of my issues with the colouring aspect is the fact that the designs are not symmetrical, not all the patterns match up correctly. If you are a bit of a perfectionist like myself, then you will find this very irritating. The most annoying aspect is when you design one side perfectly then the other side is slightly different , so it does not match. This is not an issue if you don’t mind little mistakes in your designs, but if you like everything to be neat then this is not the colouring book for you.

One really important factor to note is the fact that this is not just a colouring book. It is ‘creative therapy’ therefore there is an entire section dedicated to doodling! I was not aware of this when I purchased the book. For me I am not very good at doodling or any form of drawing, so I am yet to properly use this section of my book. But just bare in mind that there is doodling in the book, perhaps you like to doodle. If you do then this book may be great for you as you can do structured doodling.

Price wise this is one of the more expensive colouring books on the market. Is it worth it? I guess. With other colouring books for ‘adults’ I find that the designs are often quite easy and I am not exactly great at art. So if you value yourself as a good artist then this is probably the best book on the market for you. When you buy a cheaper colouring book you often find that the designs are simpler and less interesting.

SAM_0701

One of the completed pages from my book

Want one? Then you can get one on Amazon here: Creative Therapy Colouring Book

One thought on “Creative Therapy Book Review

Leave a Reply

