Why did I sign up for NCS?

In case you didn’t know, I am participating in NCS next week. I wanted to discuss with you all the reasons why I decided to sign up.

Reason 1: Confidence

For those of you who do not know, I am a very quite, shy and socially awkward teen. I lack self confidence and often find myself shying away from activities and refusing to get involved. For me this is something I want to change. I know a four week course will not fully solve the problem, but I am hoping that it might help. My goal is to gain enough confidence to be able to go up and speak to people and not feel so anxious about social events.

Reason 2: CV

Hopefully a National Citizens Service qualification will look good on my CV. For me it’s just that extra bonus, an extra something to add more substance to my CV. I never did Duke of Edinburgh, so I am really looking for an extra qualification to add to my CV aside from GCSE’S. Not only this NCS is recognised by UCAS, although you do not get any points for it. However it still may help me stand out against other university applicants.

Reason 3: Boredom

This may sound a little sad, but really I don’t do much with my life. We rarely go on holiday, so I spend most of my time at home being bored. The opportunity to go away and have some fun with people my own age sounds quite appealing. In the future I can look back upon this experience as I probably will never forget it. I guess it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity that I don’t want to miss, as I might regret it if I don’t go.

One thought on “Why did I sign up for NCS?

Leave a Reply

